BECOMING A REAL ESTATE BROKER REQUIREMENTS:
To become a Real Estate Broker you must be at least 18 years of age, have a high school diploma or equivalent, attend a minimum of 19 of 23 class sessions, complete 90 hours of classroom instruction, and have a minimum total score of 225 points out of 300 on 3 required exams. If you take our online course, you will need to pass with a 75% and all exams are given online. For more information and classes about becoming a Broker, please visit our Broker Class Overview to sign up today. (Also see “Becoming a Real Estate Agent” ).
**Though we are not aware of any requirement licensees actually be US citizens, the law is not clear. Anyone who is not a US citizen should personally confirm with the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency the requirements and if their current status meets the requirements at 317-234-3022 or email them at firstname.lastname@example.org
(Indiana Law provides that all residents of the state (and some non-residents) have the opportunity to earn an Indiana Real Estate license provided they have a high school education or a General Education Diploma and have successfully completed other educational and testing requirements.
An exception to this rule exists dealing with individuals convicted of crimes that might have a bearing on that individual’s ability to be fair, safe, and honest with members of the public.
If an applicant has a previous felony conviction, and especially if that individual is currently on probation for that offense, the Tucker School of Real Estate encourages the applicant to contact the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency for counsel prior to enrolling in a pre-licensing class.)
The Broker Course – 90 Hours
You are required to take a 90 hour online or live pre-licensing courses before you are eligible to take the state real estate exam, and with that in mind, the Tucker School of Real Estate has a Broker curriculum which will teach you all the fundamentals you’ll need for $599.00. You’ll learn from instructor experience and expertise. Online students also have access to our instructors for clarification on topics or general questions. We also have excellent technical support as well.
The vast majority of students pass our class. Students who do not pass the live course, have 1 year to retake the class for $199.00 using their original text book. Retakes are on a stand by basis to students paying full tuition. (If you are a live class student needing to re-take the course online, you will have to pay $299.50).
30 HOUR POST LICENSING EDUCATION:
Once you are ISSUED a broker’s license (you turn in your application and paperwork in to the IPLA), you will have two years from the date your license is issued to complete 30 hours of Post Licensing Education (only if active status and practicing real estate). If you are active with a company, you will have to start taking the 12 hours of regular CE after your two year deadline and during the following full licensure year from July 1 to June 30. You should check with the commission at 317-234-3022 or email them at email@example.com regarding your exact requirements. Click here for more information
All real estate brokers will have a three year renewal period from July 1 – June 30 and must complete 12 hours of continuing education each year. The last year of renewal brokers will pay a renewal fee online to renew their license. The current three year cycle is July 1, 2020 to June 30, 2023. All brokers will pay a renewal fee in June of 2023.
MANAGING BROKER REQUIREMENTS:
If you would like to hold your own license and/or start your own company, you must obtain a “Managing Broker Eligible” license. The requirements are a) hold a real estate broker license for at least 2 years and b) complete a 24 hour managing broker course. Once you qualify, you can apply to the Commission (317-234-3022) for the eligibility. There is NO fee to apply for the managing broker eligibility. The Tucker School does not offer the 24 hour course, only the managing broker continuing education.
NOTE: All brokers are required to complete 12 hours of continuing education per year. If you have the Managing Broker Eligible designation on your license (and are independent or managing your own company), 4 of the 12 hours must be dedicated to the necessary business of management skills and legal knowledge needed by a managing broker.
IF YOU ARE IN REFERRAL STATUS OR INACTIVE REQUIREMENTS: FOR THOSE LICENSED BEFORE JULY 1, 2014
*If you are in referral status or inactive currently and you did NOT complete the 24 hour broker educational course and want to activate your license, we do not offer this course any longer but there are some schools that do online.
*If you are inactive or in referrals and HAVE completed the 24 hour broker transition/educational course already, you will need 12 hours of CE to activate your license! Go to our “continuing education” tab on our home page to see our online packages!